In Virginia, employers who do not provide their employees--even subcontractors-- with workers' compensation insurance will face a penalty of up to $50,000. This amendment to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act will be in effect starting July 1st. Employers failing to insure workers under the Virginia law are subject to civil penalty of up to $250 for each day of noncompliance, and will be subject to the maximum penalty of $50,000 plus additional collection costs.
As of right now, employers who fail to provide the insurance for their employees only face a civil penalty of $5,000 for each instance of noncompliance.
All workers deserve the right to workers' compensation benefits if they are hurt on the job. It is really appalling to know that there are employers who do not provide this for their employers. It should not take a increase in the civil penalty for employers to provide workers' compensation insurance for their employees.
In our experience, it is rare that an employer will not have workers compensation insurance - every legitimate company does. And with good reason - insurance protects the company if one of their workers has a serious injury at work that requires hospitalization, surgeries, therapy, medications and benefits while he can't work.
We're here to answer your questions about work injuries and serious accidents, for you and your family. And it's all confidential.
Call us today at (202) 393 - 3320 to discuss your options and we'll send you one of our free books, guides and reports that will